Credit Card safety, in person and online

I’ve generally been under the impression that using my credit card is quite safe. However, the CBC Marketplace show has made me question this for a few reasons.

1) The notification laws in Canada are poor, which means companies are not really required to disclose when there has been a leak of crucial information
2) Since the notification laws don’t require companies to disclose, and thereby lose customers whenever there is a security breach, there is no huge financial incentive for them to prevent fraud.

Things I am going to change about my behavior
1) Not giving out address, phone number, postal code to retailers
2) Using cash rather than more convinient forms of payment.
3) I already never give my SIN number to anyone but my employer and government institutions.

You can watch the complete episode in windows media player at http://www.cbc.ca/marketplace/2007/02/net_security.html

Leave a Reply

