Waiting for the gallery to open

This morning I walked from my home at Spadina and Bernard to the PowerPlant gallery at Waterfront centre. The winter has not rescinded – wind and cold makes it feel more like late fall than early spring. The temperature has risen above zero, if only slghtly, and that’s a good thing – otherwise the windchill would have made the walk unfeasible.

My new shoes are holding me exceedingly well – one surprise is the excellent ventilation: I must wear thick socks so long as it stays cold, elsewise the wind on my toes is brutal! This will pay dividends, I think, as the weather warms. It is a cross-training shoe, and this means it has much more given than a running shoe – it feels as if it has springs in the heel (I believe Nike’s cross trainers actually do have springs in the heel).

Ah, the gallery is opening. Good thing I did not arrive earlier (the gallery, which I assumed opened at 9, in fact opens at noon, and not a moment earlier).

Leave a Reply

