I declare today to be “getting things done day” day!

After over a year of construction, my “Benoto” bike is officially up and running, thanks to the bikechain’s helpful help getting the crank properly set and tightened. It will be excellent to have wheels to get around the cube, and hopefully outside of it. Also, for quick nips down the street to Futures, and to spend time with my new everyday friend.
Riding a bike again, however, has made me pause and reflect on the ethics of bike behavior. Specifically, I’m referring to the “liberties” cyclists take with respect to traffic law. Cyclists in my experience (especially myself) take advantage of traffic law when it benefits them (i.e. gives them more rights), and break it when its to their advantage (i.e. cyclists seize the right to run late yellows, to pass through pedestrian reds, to make illegal left turns, to ride far more quickly than is safe in close quarters etc…) This behavior certainly must, on the odd instance, cause traffic accidents (although it is likely that far more often the cyclist is injured). Still, what worries me is that this behavior is generally condoned by the cycling community, and especially by its advocates who tend to be close with the cycle courier community (probably the worst offenders of these kinds of problems).

Do people have opinons on this?

EDIT: My frickin crank came frickin loose again, I guess I have to go frickin repair it again at the bike chain. However, this might indicate I need a new crank altogether. Frickin.

2 thoughts on “I declare today to be “getting things done day” day!

  1. There are situations in which it makes sense for cyclists to violate traffic rules, in the interests of safety or expedience. More often, however, people do so out of carelessness or disregard.

    If all cyclists always behaved as though they were cars (central lane position, legal turns, etc), drivers would probably be less hostile towards them.

    See:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vehicular_cycling

    The one exception to the above is that some drivers go crazy when a bike is in front of them at a light and occupying the whole lane. Just this Sunday, a driver came within a few centimetres of knocking me over after swerving violently around me the instant the light went green.

  2. I try to take up a whole lane as much as possible when safety demands it. My father has always taught me to “hog the road”, especially in the suburbs, because the alternative is ending up in the ditch.

Leave a Reply

