Obscure Band Showcase: Part 1 of 3

I’ve been thinking about blogging about some of my favorite bands for a while now, and I think the most appropriate way to do it is in a series of posts, like the previous set concerned with the future. The bands I will feature here are all similar only in the fact that I think they are extremely excellent, and that I have thought so for a long time. (And that they are, at least for the most part, obscure).

old_phoebe

The first and most obscure band I’d like people to consider looking into is “Old Phoebe“. It’s hard to describe Old Phoebe. No wait, that’s not right – it’s easy: Old Phoebe is like a happier, angrier, younger, and purer version of Teagen and Sarah – but with a bicycle instead of a drum set. They are from Nanimo, and though I suppose they may be older now, when I first discovered them at hoko’s kareoke sushi bar in Vancouver they were just out of High School. Because they are (were) so young, they can sing about the forces of social control in a way only the innocent can, as in the song “The Machine”. We can hear truth in their words, which we couldn’t have heard if we’d said them ourselves. “Rock and Roll on the Floor” is also a great song, and available on youtube.

Their best song in my opinion, however, is “Catchers” – a song based loosely on the novel “Catcher in the Rye”. Blessedly, it is avaiable on their myspace page. The song is about making mistakes, repeating mistakes, working with mistakes. To give you an idea, here is a segment of the song’s lyric:
“I make mistakes ok

I’m on the radio I’m singin a work of art somebody made

And you catch me in the rye (catch you in a lie)

My whole life, one focussed, my whole life’s a mistake

I’ll be on the radio singin’ a work of a mistake somebody made”

Leave a Reply

